top of page
Cabo Verde

Cabo Verde

Electoral Institution
The National Electoral Commission (CNE)
554 280
Eligible Voting Population:
347 662
Minimum Voter's Age:
Political Regime

The government of Cape Verde is a semi-presidential democratic republic with a president who is head of state and a prime minister who heads the government, based on a constitution that was established in 1980. Elections are held for both the prime minister and president, who both govern for five-year terms. Members of the General Assembly are elected as well for five years, and they appoint the Supreme Tribunal of Justice. The 72 members of the National Assembly are elected from 16 constituencies consisting of 2 to 15 seats. This is a multi-member proportional representation system, with closed lists.

Number of Political Parties:


Number of Election Held
General elections : 6 (1991, 1996, 2001, 2006, 2011, 2016) Parliamentary elections : 9 (Single Party: 1975, 1980, 1985; Multiparty: 1991, 1995, 2001, 2006, 2011, 2016) Municipal elections : 7 (1991, 1996, 2000, 2004, 2008, 2012, 2016)
When are the Next Elections?

General elections: 2021 Parliamentary elections: 2020 Municipal elections: 2020

The Cape Verde islands experienced the longest period of European colonization of any African nation. The Portuguese remained in direct control from 1456 to 1975. After independence, Cape Verde was led initially, along with Guinea-Bissau, by a Marxist Party that imposed strict controls on the economy and politics of the nation. The first president was Aristides Pereira who ruled during 15 years, until multiparty democracy emerged in 1991. Since the early 1990s, Cape Verde has been a stable representative democracy, and remains one of the most developed and democratic countries in Africa. Lacking natural resources, its developing economy is mostly service-oriented, with a growing focus on tourism and foreign investment. The current president is Jorge Carlos Fonseca, who was elected in 2011 and 2016.

bottom of page